This site uses a number of third party cookies. By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy


DIT student wins top award for Sleep Apnoea Detection System

Posted: 25 September, 2015

The Undergraduate Awards (UA) has announced the 2015 Winners and Highly Commended Entrants, including 6 final year DIT students who will graduate this autumn.

Sleep Apnoea Detection System Homepage

Deirdre Corr, from the School of Computer Science, has won the overall 'island of Ireland' award in the Computer Sciences category for her paper ‘Wearable Sleep Apnoea Detection System’.

In addition the following students have received Highly Commended awards:

  • Darren Maxwell, Human Resource Management: Business category;
  • Sanita Tifentale, Computer Science:  Computer Sciences category;
  • Megan O'Shaughnessy, Biomolecular Science: Life Sciences category
  • Rachel Clyne, Human Nutrition and Dietetics: Medical Sciences category
  • Lorraine Spotten, Human Nutrition and Dietetics: Medical Sciences category

These Highly Commended Entrants’ papers were ranked in the top 10% of all submissions. And, overall, DIT ranked in the top 30 for its student performance in the 2015 UA programme.  

Congratulating the students on their outstanding achievement Professor Brian Norton said "These students have already excelled in their studies with us, and this Award confirms the quality of their work.  I heartily congratulate them, not only on their awards but also for putting their work forward for review as part of the very prestigious Undergraduate Awards.  I also congratulate colleagues who have mentored and encouraged them to do so and I hope many more DIT students will do so in the future."

The Undergraduate Awards 2015 programme received 5,117 submissions from undergraduates in 255 universities across 39 countries. Winners are the top performers in each of the 25 categories.  Cited as the ultimate champion of high-potential undergraduates, and often referred to as a “junior Nobel Prize”, The Undergraduate Awards is the world’s largest academic awards programme, recognising excellent research and original work across the sciences, humanities, business and creative arts.

“This is a fantastic achievement for DIT and its undergraduates,” commended UA’s Executive Director Louise Hodgson. “Only the very top students from each university can submit their coursework, and The Undergraduate Awards identifies the very best of the best. With over 5,000 submissions from so many universities this year, the competition was extremely tough. Congratulations to all our 2015 Winners and Highly Commended Entrants!”

Winners and Highly Commended Entrants are now invited to receive their Gold Medals and meet their fellow awardees at the annual UA Global Summit, taking place in Dublin, Ireland on November 10th-13th. The Summit will be addressed by philosopher AC Grayling, physicist Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell, photographer Giles Dudley, human genome sequencer Craig Venter, and the world’s youngest professor Dr. Alia Sabur, among many more speakers and facilitators.

About The Undergraduate Awards

The Undergraduate Awards (UA) is the world's largest academic awards programme, recognising innovation and excellence at undergraduate level. Cited as the ultimate champion for high-potential undergraduates, UA identifies leading creative thinkers through their undergraduate coursework and provides top-performing students with the support, network and opportunities they require to raise their profiles and further their career paths.