This site uses a number of third party cookies. By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy


DIT Graduate Ruth Lappin claims Euro-Toques Young Chef of the Year 2015 title

Posted: 9 December, 2015

The winner of the 2015 Euro-Toques Young Chef Competition has now been announced, and Ruth Lappin, DIT Graduate and Chef de Partie at Restaurant Patrick Guilband, has taken home the prestigious award.

Pictured at the Awards Ceremony Ruth Lappin, winner of the Young Chef 2015 title with George Smith and Pauline Danaher from DIT’s School of Culinary Arts and Food Technology

A recent graduate of DIT’s BA in Culinary Arts, Ruth battled it out with five other finalists over a testing three month period to win the esteemed title. She was presented with her Award at a gala banquet event in Dublin’s Shelbourne Hotel.

The Euro-Toques Young Chef of the Year Competition is Ireland’s most prestigious culinary competition for young chefs and aims to search for Ireland’s young food heroes who will contribute to developing Irish cooking and promote our cuisine at home and abroad.

Speaking after being crowned Euro-toques Young Chef of the Year Ruth Lappin said,

“When I entered this amazing competition back in September I never thought I would be the last one standing. The past three months have been an immense learning curve for me and I have been honoured to work with such inspirational chefs along the way”.

As Euro-toques Young Chef of the Year 2015, Ruth will now embark on an all-expenses paid stage at Gordon Ramsay’s flagship restaurant working under Clare Smyth MBE, and three time Michelin-starred chef . Clare was a distinguished guest judge at this year’s competition and has tipped Ruth as "one to watch".

The judging panel also included Mark Moriarty (San Pellegrino World Young Chef 2015 champion), Graham Neville (Restaurant Forty One at Residence), Wade Murphy (Commissioner General of Euro-Toques Ireland and Chef/Proprietor 1826 Adare), Paul Kelly (Executive Pastry Chef at Merrion Hotel and Great Irish Bake Off judge). The chairing judge was Lorcan Cribbin (former Commissioner General of Euro-Toques Ireland).

Commenting at the final, Wade Murphy, President of Euro-toques Ireland said,

“The level of dedication and passion that these 5 young chefs have shown throughout the last three months is inspirational and really showcases that the future of Irish cooking in Ireland is in safe hand. This year’s competition was extremely close and really came down to the wire but Ruth showcased exceptional culinary skill and organisation making her a worthy winner”.