This site uses a number of third party cookies. By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy


Final of Irish Times Debate 2017 in DIT Bolton Street

Posted: 15 February, 2017

The 58th grand final of the Irish Times Debate 2017 will be hosted in DIT Bolton Street on Friday 17th February.

This the first time that Dublin Institute of Technology has hosted the final although in 1971 DIT Bolton Street took the individual award when broadcaster Marian Finucane became the first woman to win the Irish Times Debate. Ms Finucane was a student of Architecture in Bolton Street at the time. DIT conferred her with an Honorary Doctorate in 2002 in recognition of her achievements in journalism and broadcasting.

Marian Finucane, Individual Speaker Winner, Irish Times Debate 1971 – photo courtesy of Irish Times

Minister for Children and Youth Affairs Katherine Zappone will chair the Debate, for which the motion before the house will be: “This House Believes the women of Ireland should strike to repeal the eighth amendment”.

The competing teams will be:

First proposition: Dublin University Philosophical Society (Harry Higgins and Sorcha Ryder)

First opposition: UCD Law Society (Aisling Tully and Dara Keenan)

Second proposition: UCD Literary and Historical Society (Kevin Brennan and Sandi Ndebele)

Second opposition: UCC Philosophical Society (Ciaran Daly and Ross O’Donoghue).


First proposition: Daniel Gilligan (Dublin University Philosophical Society)

First opposition: Lewis Shanahan (UCC Law Society)

Second proposition: Danielle O’Riordan (Solicitors’ Apprentices’ Debating Society of Ireland)

Second opposition: Leah Morgan (Solicitors’ Apprentices’ Debating Society of Ireland)‌