This site uses a number of third party cookies. By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy


DIT students win four Smedia awards

Posted: 11 April, 2017

DIT won four awards at the National Student Media Awards (Smedias) attended by over 400 students at the Aviva Stadium.

Smedia Awards 1

The Smedias are Ireland's biggest national student media awards, with thousands of entries each year from students across the country. 

Congratulations to the DIT School of Media winners:

Kevin Hughes, Journalist Of The Year- Iriseoireacht Scríofa

Ellen Fitzpatrick, Radio Production Of The Year- Arts & Features

Rachel D’Arcy, Features Writer Of The Year- Arts & Pop Culture

Matthew Colfer, Sinead Farrelly, Niamh Haskins, The Edition- Small College Or Society Publication Of The Year

Michelle Dardis, Niamh Geoghegan, Niamh Haskins, Moxie Magazine - Layout and design of the Year- Highly Commended

Smedia Awards 2

Pictured outside the newsroom is Kevin Hughes 4th year Journalism with a language student with his Journalist Of The Year- Iriseoireacht Scríofa Smedia for his articles in Tairseach Magazine.

Smedia Awards 3