This site uses a number of third party cookies. By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy


The chemistry of food: flavour, function and safety

Posted: 9 June, 2017

Food, glorious food! A one-day conference organised by the Institute of Chemistry in Ireland (ICI) will bring together a range of experts to consider all things related to the chemistry of food.

Themes include flavour and enjoyment; safety and analysis; preservation and nutritional enhancement; and lots more.

The conference will be hosted by DIT in the Gleeson Theatre, Kevin Street, on Wednesday 21 June.  Professor John Cassidy, DIT explains that the chemistry of food is not only of scientific interest but is also of increasing importance for industry, agriculture, and the consumer.  “The theme of this one-day ICI conference is to introduce some aspects of food chemistry to the broader population of chemists.”

With a keynote address by internationally renowned expert Professor Hervé This from l’Institut National de la Recherche Agronomique in France, the programme for the conference also includes a range of presentations on the following:

Sensory Aspects of food: flavours, taste, colour.  Aesthetics of food related to chemical components;

Sampling and analysis:  challenges of sampling and analysing a heterogeneous material, quantification of components, residue analysis,  novel means of food characterisation

Functional Ingredients: latest developments in formulations, treatment of food, freeze drying; adulteration, nutraceuticals.

Contributors on these topics and others will include experts from academia, industry and state institutions:

  • Dr. John Keegan, Public Analysts laboratory
  • Prof. Seamus O Mahony, UCC
  • Prof.. Vitaly Buckin, UCD
  • Dr. Maria Hayes, TEAGASC
  • Prof. Jean-Christophe Jacquier, UCD
  • Dr. Edward Malone, State Laboratory
  • Ms. Charlene Connolly, Monaghan Mushrooms
  • Dr. Tony McGorisk, Kerry Group

Professor Cassidy is joined on the organising committee by fellow chemists and food scientists  Dr.Jesus Frias, Dr. Catherine Barry Ryan, Dr.Eoghan McGarrigle, Dr. Paula Bourke and Dr. Julie Dunne.

To register for the conference go to :