This site uses a number of third party cookies. By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy


Six DIT students shine in world’s ultimate academic award

Posted: 22 September, 2017

Six DIT students have been named as regional winners or highly commended in the Undergraduate Awards 2017.

Undergraduate Awards 2017

Cited as the ultimate champion for high-potential undergraduates, The Undergraduate Awards is the world’s largest academic awards programme. By making this list, these DIT students are now in the top 10% in their respective fields worldwide.

This year the Undergraduate Awards Programme received a record number of 6,432 submissions from students in 299 Institutions across 47 countries. The programme was split into seven regions: Africa & the Middle East; Asia; Europe; Island of Ireland; Latin America; Oceania; and USA & Canada. The highest performing Highly Commended Entrant in each Region is named a Regional Winner of their category. 

All six DIT students are recognized with: a certificate of recognition, publication of their submission on The Undergraduate Library, access to the UA Alumni Portal, and the opportunity to attend the UA Global Summit 2017. 

Congratulations to the following DIT students: 


Business – Daragh Griffin - BSc Marketing 

Computer Sciences – Seán Jennings - BSc Computer Science

Engineering – Michael Shaughnessy - ME Mechanical Engineering


Architecture & Design - Kate Rushe - BArch Architecture

Life Sciences - Stefanie K. Gräfe - BSc Biomedical Sciences

Visual Arts - Edit Elias - BA Photography

Commenting on this year's DIT winners, Dr Brenda Cullen Executive Director at The Undergraduate Awards said, “It is an immense achievement for undergraduate students to benchmark their work globally. To be recognised for their creativity and innovative approach within their discipline can only propel them to become global thinkers and potential change-makers. We are very appreciative of the support of the global academic community who work closely with The Undergraduate Awards to identify these impressive students”